When using project models, it is possible to set whether projects continue to follow the project model’s set-up, or whether the project manager has the rights to adjust the project set-up himself. For example, you can set whether the project manager is allowed to edit the kanban lists or not:
- Check the option Project managers can edit kanban lists and click
- Project managers can add and remove lists on the project’s Kanban tab and on a plan item’s detail page. Note: when creating the project, the Kanban lists of the project model are copied to the project only once.
- Note: if this setting is unchecked, the project follows the standard layout of the project model.
What is the effect on existing projects if the settings are adjusted?
If the project manager is given the rights to edit the kanban lists, the next time the kanban tab is opened, you will be asked to place the existing items (again) in one of the columns. Subsequently, adjustments made in the model will no longer affect the existing projects.
When the option for editing the kanban lists by project managers is disabled, the lists as defined in the project model will be applied to all existing projects based on the respective model. Also after this, the project manager will be asked to place the existing items in one of the lists again the first time the kanban tab is accessed.